My Twitter Feed

July 16, 2018

Okorocha swears in seven new commissioners

Swift Share!

Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha has sworn in seven new commissioners, including Patience Mbakwe, daughter of the first executive governor of old Imo state, the late Chief Sam Mbakwe and seven new local government caretaker committee chairmen.

The new commissioners and local government caretaker committee chairmen were appointed to replace their predecessors who had resigned their appointments to pursue their political ambitions.

The new commissioners, who have been assigned portfolios are Chief Chidi Ibe (Information and Strategy), Mr. Obinna Mbata (Internal Generated revenue), Ms. Patience Mbakwe (Industry and Non-formal Sector), Mr. Victor Ogbonna Amadi (Commerce and Market Development), Mr. Ikechukwu Njoku (Finance), Mr. Clinton Obinyom (Public Utilities and Public Safety) and Mrs. Mma Nzeribe (Primary, Secondary and Non-formal Education).

The Local government transition committee chairmen sworn in were those of Owerri North, Owerri West, Owerri Municipal, Ahiazu Mbaise, Ohaji-Egbema, Oguta and Oru East local governments

Addressing the new appointees, Okorocha disclosed that he had approved the release of N3 billion for the renovation of the headquarters of the local governments in the state, pointing out that the council secretariats had been left over the years to rot.


Leave A Comment