My Twitter Feed

August 16, 2018

Confusion in Imo Assembly …As Speaker removes Majority leader

lugard osuji

  The Imo State House of Assembly witnessed a rowdy session on Thursday during its plenary when Speaker Acho Ihim announced, after the motion for adjournment, the removal of the House Majority leader, Hon. Uche Oguwuike, representing Ikeduru constituency, and promptly replaced him with former majority leader, Lugard Osuji of Owerri Municipal. The Speaker had announced the change while members of the House were about leaving the legislative Chamber. The new majority leader was sacked last year by the House over alleged inefficiency in the discharge of his duties. The removal of Ogwuike did not go down well with some…

3 Principal Officers of Imo Assembly Resign

lugard osuji

  Three principal officers of the Imo House of Assembly on Tuesday in Owerri resigned their positions following alleged controversies surrounding the 2018 appropriation bill. The principal officers who resigned their positions are the Majority Leader, Lugard Osuji, his deputy, Kenneth Ibe and the Chief Whip of the House, Marcel Odunze, all of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Tendering their resignation, the former majority leader said the action was in the `collective interest’ of the assembly. The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that 17 of the 27 members of the assembly boycotted the plenary session and observed proceedings from…

Gbajabiamila wins, emerges House Leader

  After weeks of infighting, ding dong politics and finger pointing, Speaker House of Representatives, Honourable Yakubu Dogara, Wednesday, buckled and named Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila as the Majority Leader of the chamber. The development, which was a sharp contrast to the earlier stand of the speaker that the position must go to the Northwest to accommodate federal character principle in the sharing of principal offices, came a day after President Muhammadu Buhari met with the House caucus of the All Progressives Congress (APC). “The President is the game changer”, Chairman House Ad hoc Committee on Media, Hon Sani Zorro said….