Our Lady of Lourdes celebrates Youth Day, launches Ultra Modern Store


Rev. Fr. John Obilor, Rev. Fr. Xavier Francis Ekwugha and the youths

A new ultra modern store has been launched at Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Parish Avu in the Owerri-West LGA.

The ceremony which took place at the church premises on Sunday, November 15, 2015 attracted dignitaries from various walks of life, particularly friends and well-wishers of the church.

The event started with a Eucharistic celebration by Rev. Fr. Prof. John Obilor.

Deliverying a homily during the thanksgiving Mass celebrated for the youths, Fr. Obilor reminded Christ’s faithful that those who receive the word of God have been given the power to become children of God.

According to him, the inability to accept the word of God hinders one from appreciating the Sacrament of Holy Eucharist, which is Christ Himself.

Fr. Obilor described the youth as the pillar of the church and called on the faithful to be as wise as Solomon, who made a choice and God granted it to him.

He called on the youths and indeed everyone to emulate King Solomon, saying that Solomon’s choice was an eternal and lasting value, adding that the wisdom of God is a great treasure which he gave  to him.

In his address at the occasion, the CYON President, Ngerecham Simon-Peter K. said that the fruits of this year’s Youth Week are many and thanked the Parish Priest, Rev. Fr. Xavier Francis Ekwugha for his guidance and counseling for the spiritual growth of CYON members. He also thanked Rev. Fr. Prof. John Obilor for his hard work in the parish as well as parents, friends and well-wishers for their.

On the awards conferred on members and friends of the association, Bro. Simon-Peter explained that the recipients had served the CYON and the parish selflessly.

Those that received the awards as the pillars and Ambassadors of CYON are: Rev. Fr. Raymond Nzereogu, the Director of Assumpta Press, Rev. Fr. Xavier Francis Ekwugha, the Parish Priest, Mr. Reginald Ikpeawugo, Chief Mrs. Grace Onyeneke, Mr. Chukwueke Kamalu, Mr. Patrick Nze, Mr. Emeka Patrick Elibe, Mr. Chukwubuike Ofurum, Chief Sixtus Nwanne, Mr. Herbert Nlem, Lolo Blessing Chinagorom, Mr. Ifeanyi Ndu, Mr. Emeka Onyeneke, Comd. H.C. Anyanwu, Comd. Benedict Obinna and Dr. I. C. Madufor.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here