My Twitter Feed

February 24, 2017

IMSU honours four Senate member elevated to different positions in society

Imo State University Owerri held a special Senate session on Monday September 5, in honour of four distinguished members of the school senate elevated to different positions in the society recently.

Those honoured are: Professor Anthony Anwuka, one time Vice Chancellor of the university, former Secretary to the State Government and currently the honourable Minister of State for Education.

Also honoured was Prof Boniface C. Iwuchukwu, former Dean Faculty of Education, who had served as external examiner to many universities and colleges of education. He was also a one time  Commissioner, Ministry of Community Government and Chieftaincy Affairs Imo State, a one time Commissioner for Planning and Economic Development, and currently Vice Chancellor of Tansian University, Anambra State.

Also received was Prof Chinedum Nwajiuba, an Odenigbo Laureate and the immediate past Dean of Post Graduate School IMSU. He is the current Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Ndifo Alike, Ebonyi, State.

The 4th receipient, Prof Charles Okoreafor, was a former Head Sociology Department Imo State University, Consultant on Sociological matters and the current Acting Vice Chancellor of Gregory University Uturu, Abia State.

Speaking on the occasion, the Acting Vice Chancellor of Imo State University and Chairman of Senate, Prof. Mrs. Victoria Obasi recalled that in their last Senate Meeting, the Senate members agreed that the distinguished Professors be appreciated because of their contributions to the growth of the State University and also for their elevation in different positions in the society.

“This shows that Imo State University is soaring higher and higher and we don’t intend going any lower,” Prof Obasi said.

READ ALSO  Tallest Statue of Jesus Christ Commissioned In Orlu

She commended the former Vice Chancellors, Deputy Vice Chancellors, past and present Deans, Directors of various departments, heads of the institution for always having IMSU at heart.

Prof. Anthony Anwuka while appreciating the honour, thanked members of the Senate for receiving  them. He said that his ministry was very busy studying the system, mapping out challenges faced by each university in the country so as to bring about a lasting solution and a better education system. The other awardees, Prof Iwuchukwu, Prof Nwajiuba and Prof Okereafor also thanked the Senate members and the University community for appreciating their contributions to the growth of IMSU.



Leave A Comment