APGA wins Anambra Central Senatorial election

APGA won Anambra Central Senatorial District


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate, Chief Victor Chukwunoyelum Umeh winner of the Anambra Central Senatorial District rerun election conducted on Saturday, Jan. 13 in the state.

Umeh scored a total of 64,879 votes representing 95.6 percent of the votes cast to end the two years tortuous journey to the red carpet chambers of the National Assembly. APC came a distant second with 975 votes why PPA came third with 116 votes. Umeh’s victory gave APGA its first Senate seat in Nigeria.

Declaring the result at the INEC headquarters Awka, the Returning Officer and Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academics, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Prof. Charles Esimone said that Umeh having scored the highest votes cast and satisfied the provisions of the law “is hereby, declared winner and duely returned.”

Just as Governor Obiano won in all the 21 local government areas of Anambra State during last year’s Anambra guber election, Umeh also won in the seven LGAs that constitute Anambra Central Senatorial District.

The LGAa are: Njikoka, Aroka South, Awka North, Idemili South, Idemili North, Durukofia and Anaocha.

The court had earlier barred the People’s Democratic Party, PDP whose candidate; Mrs. Uche Ekwunife was declared winner in March 2015, from fielding a candidate in the re-run.

Meanwhile, Minister for Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige has insisted that he was not part of the senatorial election. Ngige was among the 14 candidates listed by INEC for the elections.

But in a Press Statement signed by the minister himself, he said he had long written INEC of his decision not to participate.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here