St. Joseph Umualumaku marks Father’s Day 


…Honours parishioners with Ezinna awards

Rev. Fr. Anthony Dieme, Parish Priest, St. Joseph Catholic Church, Umualumaku, Ehime-Mbano LGA celebrated the Eucharist on Sunday May 13, 2018 heralding the Father’s Day celebration.

18 parishioners who distinguished themselves in their selfless services to the church were honoured at the occasion.

Fr. Dieme concelebrated with Rev. Frs. Henry Obi (Curate), Kingsley Eze and Very Rev. Fr. Athenasius Owunna, the Okigwe Diocesan CMO Chaplain.

In his homily, Fr. Henry Obi observed that he who abides in love abides in God and God abides in him.

According to him, Jesus prayed for unity among the apostles. The homilist decried the lack of unity as people pre-occupy themselves with struggle for leadership. He condemned disunity which has unwittingly brought underdevelopment and distrust, positing that when there is unity of purpose, development naturally creeps in.

Fr. Obi admonished the congregation to shun discrimination, and practice love, forgiveness and reconciliation even at the point of death. He recalled how Christ forgave the man at the cross promising to unite with him in heaven.

He said that things that unite us are far greater than those that disunite us. He wondered why people relish in building walls of disunity, fan embers of hatred, in fighting, confusion and agitation among families.

He extolled those elevated to Ezinna status and enjoined them to propagate peace and unity and ensure they live lives worthy of emulation. He canvassed for respect for those elevated.

Among those decorated as Ezinne include: Nze Emerenu Linus, Ezinna Nze Jonas Nwokeogu, Sir Barnabas Osuji (KSJI), Longinus Obilor, John Iwundu, Esilonu Virgilus, Sylvanus Ohakwe, Nze Romanus Omeire, Gabriel Okorie, Chief Isaac Chukwu, Akpagha Marcellus, Stephen Obiechi Anyanwu, Lambert Nwaigwe, Richard Ukawuilu, Ezinna Simon Ezeh, Vanasius Oguchukwu and Donatus Ogbonna. They were decorated by the Ehime Denary CMO President, Ezinna Celestine Iwundu.

Presenting an address, Chief Kevin Okonkwo (KSJI), Parish CMO President extolled the parish priest Fr. Tony Dieme, the Ezinna awardees and the parishioners for their effort. He eulogized the planning committee headed by Chief Marcel Ndu and Chief Christopher Ejimogu.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here